Norris Reservation in Norwell, MA

Last weekend I went for a hike at the Norris Reservation in Norwell, MA. It had very well-maintained trails and lovely scenery. I went with Shawn, our friend Lauren, and her brother Chris (and their small dog, Charlie). Together we had a grand little hike in the November woods.

At the start of the trails, somebody had decorated a couple of trees for Christmas!

IMG_2094Adorableness.

IMG_2093It was a grey day, making it feel especially seasonal.

IMG_2095We had to sort out a makeshift leash for Charlie because there were lots of signs around the preserve about keeping your dog on a leash. Plus there were a lot of other people out walking. Chris had some tie-down straps in his car that we tied to Charlie’s sweater. And away we went!

IMG_2120Although we hiked for miles, it didn’t feel like it because there was constantly something to see along the way. Like this tree that had fallen over.

IMG_2103I was asking Shawn not to get my feet in the shot because I thought my sneakers looked a bit nerdy. I can’t tell if it’s more cool that I want stylish sneakers or less cool that I even care.

IMG_2105We came across this spot that seemed to be a little spiritual/druid/Wiccan shrine. We’re not really sure what philosophy or religion it was affiliated with but there was a wreath made of sticks hanging from a tree, which is a little too Blair Witch if you ask me.

IMG_2109There was also this mysterious pink stone on the ground.

IMG_2110When we flipped it over there was a pentagram on the other side. There were also a few burnt scraps of paper.

IMG_2112I loved this tree! It looked like it had great big lips and was eating the old rusted sign.

IMG_2114

There were a lot of beautiful details to appreciate along the way.

IMG_2116

IMG_2117

IMG_2121

Overall, a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Leave a comment